when it rains…

Despite some setbacks with this seat cushion, I’m pretty happy with this first attempt at a zippered box seat cover. Discovered I don’t have the zipper foot for my sewing machine, planning a jaunt into the quilt store sometime next week to pick one up. A zipper foot makes sewing piping much easier as you can get right up next to the cording without stitching through it or dealing with a wonky presser foot going over different thicknesses, though there are also piping and corded piping presser feet available as well.

some woobles in the piping towards the back where it’s unlikely anyone will see one the chair’s completed

Until I learn how to use the compressor and pneumatic stapler, I can’t do much more on the chair itself, but I can get the other pieces cut and piping made. Here’s a preview, I’m thinking it’s going to look great if I can just persevere.

I’ll smooth out the front later, but I was just so anxious to get a sense of how it’ll look!

Still have the piping to cut and sew, and the inner arm pieces get machine sewn as well, but all of the other pieces are cut now. Waiting for some cotton duck to make the decking though the curved piece (those are darts, like tucks, that change a straight piece into a curved piece) at the bottom of the picture is what connects with the plain fabric to make the chair deck.

The paler piece in the upper right shows the reverse or wrong side of the fabric.

Leave a comment

Filed under 228 Churchill, home projects

Leave a comment